banner-siteskin-left-shueisha-onepiece-puzzlehunt
banner-siteskin-left-shueisha-onepiece-puzzlehunt

6 Light Novels Like Overlord [Recommendations]

También puedes leer este artículo en:Español

Here at Honey’s Anime, we have a special place in our otaku hearts for everything inspired by video games. We also empathize when your favorite game gets shut down and nobody knows exactly why. It could be a temporary technical problem… although we also like to think that magical things happen inside the videogames world. This is exactly the premise of Overlord, the brainchild of writer Kugane Maruyama and illustrator so-bin. Our protagonist, Momonga, decides to not log out from his favorite game, called Yggdrasil. Thanks to that, he becomes the most powerful wizard, surrounded by characters that come to life. What other light novels depict fantastic worlds and new territories to conquer like Overlord? Let’s find out in this article!


Similar Manga to Overlord

1. Isekai Maou to Shoukan Shoujo no Dorei Majutsu (How NOT to Summon a Demon Lord)

  • Authors: Yukiya Murasaki, Takahiro Tsurusaki
  • Genres: Comedy, Fantasy, Magic
  • Volumes: 8
  • Published: Dec 2, 2014 to Present

Warning: A bit of ecchi content is ahead. Proceed with caution.

Yukiya Murasaki is a veteran writing stories full of fantasy and charismatic female characters. As for Takahiro Tsurusaki, they have some experience illustrating novels from the fantasy gender. On this occasion, they combine their talents to present us the life of Takuma Sakamoto, who is so good with games that he is called the Demon King. When he gets summoned to another world, he recruits some local girls and heads for new adventures.

If you liked Overlord because of the protagonist, you are in luck today. Takuma is also a former player who is sent to a fantasy world. Both are skillful with magic, super powerful and are show offs (even if they have their weak side). They also acquire servants throughout their adventures. The difference is that Isekai Maou is darker than Overlord. Also, the story is more centered on the protagonist in this novel… and on his female companions.


2. Princess wa Barairo no Yume wo Miru (The Rose Colored Dream of the Vampire Princess)

  • Authors: Ichiro Sasaki, Marimo
  • Genres: Adventure, Fantasy, Vampire
  • Volumes: 4
  • Published: Aug 8, 2014 to Present

Princess wa Barairo no Yume wo Miru was the debut work of Ichiro Sasaki as writer. While they only have another newer project under their sleeve, Marimo has a long experience illustrating seinen novels. In this novel, the protagonist suffers an accident, but far from dying, he is saved by the vampire princess character from a famous game. Now he lives inside an alternative world where everything could happen... besides having a fascinating adventures companion, that is.

Another protagonist who is transported to another world? Yeap. Gamers? Sure! Do they command people who are super powerful? You bet! However, the main difference between Princess and Overlord is that the first one has a lighter tone. So, this is the perfect balance for Isekai Maou, if you find that novel too dark for your tastes!


3. Log Horizon

  • Authors: Mamare Touno, Kazuhiro Hara
  • Genres: Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Magic, Sci-Fi
  • Volumes: 10
  • Published: May 18, 2012 to Jun 28, 2013

Mamare Touno has had his fair doses of fame with a couple of well written fantasy light novels. As for Kazuhiro Hara, he debuted as illustrator with a cute looking fantasy novel called Wandervogel before he hit the sweet spot in our otaku hearts together with Touno. In Log Horizon, we get transported together with some 30 thousand players to the world of Ender Tales. Nobody can die, the food has no taste… so all this pushes an adventurer called Shiro to find a way out of this place.

We get yet another light novel about real people who get transported to a game-like experience, just like in Overlord. The guilds, magic, and many other elements are present in both. And, oh, the sweet thirst for adventure! The main difference between both novels is the tone of “looking for power” in Overlord while Log Horizon’s protagonists only want to get out of the world they have been transported to. The tone is more positive overall, so if you want a light novel that tempts your sense of wonder, look no further than Log Horizon.



Any Manga Like Overlord ?

4. Jashin Average (Average of Evil Gods)

  • Authors: Yunaki Kitaseno, Kihiro Yuzuki
  • Genres: Comedy, Fantasy
  • Volumes: 3
  • Published: Sep 7, 2015 to May 25, 2016

Jashin Average is the upbeat debut of Yunaki Kitaseno as light novel’s writer, while Kihiro Yuzuki has some experience illustrating fantasy and particularly isekai style light novels. This story tells us the woes of Anri, a girl who looks as beautiful as a flower, behaves as one… but has a little problem. Yes, this lady has scary eyes. When she is summoned to another world and meets an Evil God, she requests to have average eyes… and the God gives her Average Evil God eyes. So, what will come of our heroine? You will have to read Jashin Average to find it out!

Anri is summoned to an RPG-like world just like the protagonist of Overlord. They are very powerful and skillful in their own rights as well. However, their appearance might make us think that they are evil. The main difference is that Anri does not want the power of the Evil God eyes, while Momonga is very happy with his new life and skills. Therefore, if you would prefer a lighter version of Overlord, you can not miss Jashin Average!


5. Re: Monster

  • Authors: Kogitsune Kagekiro, Kobayakawa Haruyoshi
  • Genres: Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Magic
  • Volumes: 9
  • Published: Jul 24, 2012 to Present

We have one more debut light novel here in the case of writer Kogitsune Kagekiro and illustrator Kobayakawa Haruyoshi. Our protagonist in this occasion is Tomokui Kanata, who after suffering death, reincarnates in a weak goblin named Goburou. Thanks to this reincarnation, Goburou has memories of his past life and becomes pretty strong if he eats a lot. Now he will have to put this abilities on test in this fantasy world.

So… where have we heard of a protagonist who is transported to another world? Ok, ok, we get it, this is becoming a common prop ^^U The protagonist also becomes more powerful, and then they have to use their abilities to survive and conquer the new world. Even the atmosphere is quite similar on these two stories, so if you miss Overlord, this is the light novel you should be reading.


6. Tensei shitara Slime Datta Ken (That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime)

  • Authors: Fuse, Taiki Kawakami
  • Genres: Fantasy, Shounen
  • Volumes: 226
  • Published: Mar 26, 2015 to Present

Tensei shitara Slime Datta Ken was the debut work for Fuse as writer. As for Taiki Kawakami, he illustrated two fantasy manga before working with Fuse. In Tensei shitara Slime Datta Ken, a 37 year old man is killed by a robber, but fortunately for him, he reincarnates as a blind slime in another world. Instead of grieving, he renames himself as Rimuru Tempest and decides to have many adventures in this world, conquering companions along the way.

Both protagonists change radically when they are transported to another world, not only physically, but also in matters of power. They do not have strong emotions or needs, and romance is not an important factor in their stories… and they are also the bosses. The main difference is that Overlord has a darker tone and is more focused in mind games. Therefore, if what you want in your isekai is adventure and some good battles, Tensei Shitara Slime Datta Ken has you covered.


Final Thoughts

To be an Overlord or to not be one… if only we could choose… Anyway, this does not mean that we do not enjoy adventures with powerful protagonists in other worlds. Did you notice that this is a prop that has gotten famous particularly within this decade? Light novels like Overlord help us imagine what would happen if we were suddenly skillful and free from other responsibilities. What other light novels like Overlord have you enjoyed? Don’t forget that we are open to all your comments and suggestions. See you soon!

Overlord-1-Light-Novel-300x425 6 Light Novels Like Overlord [Recommendations]

Writer

Author: Sakura_Moonprincess

Writing about anime by Moonlight. Swift as a coursing river, with all the force of a great typhoon, with all the strength of a raging fire, mysterious as the dark side of the Moon.

Previous Articles

Top 5 Anime by Sakura_Moonprincess



Recommended Post

6 Anime Like Overlord [Updated Recommendations]