Mecha Light Novels Like Full Metal Panic! [Honeyfeed Recommendations]

During our childhood, we’ve grown to watch and love badass gigantic robots fighting against each other. We’re talking about Voltes V, Zoids, Full Metal Panic! and all those mecha anime. The mecha genre didn’t really fade into oblivion. It’s still fairly popular for a very good reason. After all, most, if not all, just love seeing blasters and other kinds of futuristic weapons. We guess the cool toys and other merchandise is just a topping to the already long list of reasons why we love a good mecha story.

Full Metal Panic! actually originated as a series of light novels written by Shoji Gatoh, but was since adapted to both manga and anime due to its high popularity. We get it. We also can’t have enough mecha in our lives, right? Here’s a list of Honeyfeed light novels for our consumption. What’s better is that these are all free to read!

Similar Mecha Web Novels to Full Metal Panic!



1. Burned Out Heroes

  • Author: big bear
  • Genres: Action, Drama, Mecha, Military/War, Sci-Fi
  • Chapters: 16
  • Status: Ongoing

Burned Out Heroes follows the tale of Cyborg 01, who is a hero of war. Obviously, he isn’t human. He is a cyborg that has a little girl accompanying. It just so happens that that girl, Karen, has the ability to bend digital networks. Hold your horses, lolicons. There won’t be any cyborg loli bonding, not the romantic kind at least. The pair is just wandering about during the post-war world. However, there won’t be that much of a story if that’s the case, right? They stumble on a massive incident on an artificial island called “Soul Settler”. That’s when the fun starts.

Unlike Full Metal Panic! with humongous mecha, Burned Out Heroes focus more on the man-sized cyborgs. Nevertheless, Burned Out Heroes does not lack that mecha feels. Especially since the main protagonist is the cyborg himself, we also get to see what goes through a cyborg’s head.


2. Avalon: Dark Ages Beginning

  • Author: AuthorAtish
  • Genres: Action, Mecha, Military/War, Post-Apocalyptic, Psychological
  • Chapters: 8
  • Status: Ongoing

Set almost a millennium away from ours, the titular Avalon has conquered most of the world. Is that a good thing? The title itself says no. In this world, borders are non-existent. The overlord supreme, Astralagus XII Pendragon, believes that borders are evil, which is pretty different to what some countries believe right now. On the other hand, Pendragon also believes that true peace will only be achieved once everybody is oppressed and controlled. So, what exactly happens when you oppress a huge population in a future of weapons and armors? Well, we’ll leave that for you to figure out.

Just like Full Metal Panic! Avalon: Dark Ages Beginning also features a lot of airships. On the other hand, Avalon focuses more on metal armor. Think of it as something from the Middle Ages, but more futuristic.


3. Machines of War

  • Author: FoxGirl3457
  • Genres: Action, Adventure, Girls Love, Mecha, Military/War
  • Chapters: 3
  • Status: Ongoing

Like most amazing mecha stories, Machines of War is a starting novel set in a mecha academy. It follows the adventures of Mia Bell and Kelly Bloom as they traverse their dreams of finally flying their own mecha. Of course, that is just the goal. We will also witness as they go towards their daily adventures and, maybe, even mishaps. Since there have only been less than a handful of published chapters, for now, we still can’t say how amazing the story is. However, there seems to be great potential based on what we’ve already read.


More Free Novels Like These

Yes, we get it. There doesn’t seem to be enough stories to satiate this hunger for some great light novels. But, hey, there is actually a place that can provide some great stories. Honeyfeed is a place for authors and readers alike to flourish. Honeyfeed is the place to go. Best of all, all novels are free to read!

Burned-Out-Heroes-novel-300x424 Mecha Light Novels Like Full Metal Panic! [Honeyfeed Recommendations]

Writer

Author: Christian Markle

Bio: I am a copywriter, proofreader, and editor. I love watching anime, reading manga, and writing my own stories. Watch out in the future as you may see one of my works one day. Manga and anime were big parts of my childhood. I grew up watching Yu Yu Hakusho, Slam Dunk, One Piece, and Dragon Ball Z. Those were probably one of the happiest and most carefree days of my life. In fact, most of my values are probably molded by manga. No, that's not an exaggeration.

Previous Articles

Top 5 Anime by Christian Markle